German Pizza – an old family recipe

German Pizza
German Pizza

My grandma O. used to make German Pizza for breakfast when all of us grandkids would be up north visiting and my mom would occasionally make it for dinner.  My sisters and I LOVED it!

Then when I got married and got all Suzy Homemaker-ish I started making it for dinner once in a while for a little piece of nostalgia.  I love it smothered in ketchup and mustard!

It’s a comfort food make-once-a-year-or-so kind of dish but it’s also great for brunches.  I like it because for the two of us we get a few meals out of it and we don’t get sick of it.

We usually make it all in a large frying pan and without the sauerkraut but I wanted to make it more “German” and added the kraut.  Plus, kraut is good for you and this needs a veg in it.  I also wanted to get the hashbrowns extra crispy so thought I’d try roasting them in a baking dish then adding all the ingredients and baking it.

This is the result of the baked + sauerkraut version of our family’s German Pizza recipe. And it turned out pretty damn good!

German Pizza

  • 1 lb of bulk pork sausage
  • 6 medium potatoes, grated. Or go the easy route and use a bag of hashbrowns
  • 1 can of sauerkraut (large or small, depends how much you like sauerkraut)
  • 2 cups or so of shredded cheese (I used a cheddar/gruyere fusion Alpha Morning Sun)
  • 1 dz eggs or so + 1/2 cup water whisked
  • Pepper to taste
  1. Preheat the oven to 425.  In a frying pan, brown the sausage.  Shred the potatoes into a baking dish and mix with a little oil.  Bake the shredded potatoes till roasted, about 30-40 minutes.  If you like it extra crispy, broil it for about 5 minutes till crispy.
  2. While the potatoes are baking, whisk the eggs and water, add pepper.  Shred the cheese.  Drain the sauerkraut.  I don’t add salt because of the sodium in the sausage, sauerkraut, and cheese.
  3. When the potatoes are roasted and crispy to your liking, add a layer of sauerkraut, pour on the egg mixture, add sausage, and sprinkle on the cheese.  Bake at 425 for about 45 minutes.

Let me know how what you think!

 

2 thoughts on “German Pizza – an old family recipe

Leave a Reply

