Hunter’s Stir Fry

Hunter's Stir Fry
Hunter’s Stir Fry

My hubby has a few favs he sweet talk’s me into once in a while and since he was home all week he asked if I could make this for him.

I made up this concoction in our early married years when I was trying to be creative with venison.  It gets changed up a bit each time I make it depending on what I have in my fridge.  So feel free to add different veggies and use a different marinade or teriyaki (I usually make my own just throwing some soy sauce and other things together but I wabted to use up my Trader Joe’s Soyaki).  In fact, I NEVER follow a recipe exactly or do the same thing twice.  I ALWAYS improvise.  That’s just me.  The nonconformist.  Thanks dad and grandpa O!

I named it Hunter’s Stir Fry because it’s made with venison (I’ve also made it with elk), mushrooms, and a wild rice blend.  All hunter/gatherer type of ingredients.  Very midwestern.

Give it a shot, use this recipe as a guide, and improvise in your stir fry.  Comment and let me know what you added to yours!

Hunter’s Stir Fry

  • 1 lb venison or elk steaks, cut into chunks
  • 1 pkg sliced mushrooms
  • 1 small onion, sliced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 cup dry wild rice blend
  • Trader Joe’s Soyaki, teriyaki, or make your own marinade
  • 1 bell pepper, sliced

Marinade the venison or elk for a few hours in the teriyaki or homemade marinade.

Prepare the wild rice blend according to instructions.

In a large frying pan, heat a little sesame or olive oil and fry the meat with the marinade and onions.  Mix in garlic and peppers and fry for a few minutes. Then mix in mushrooms and fry for a few minutes longer.  When the mushrooms start to soften, add the cooked wild rice blend and stir fry the entire mixture until it’s hot and well blended.  Add more teriyaki or soy sauce for taste if needed.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

