Here’s what to do with your Leftover Christmas Ham->Bean Soup

img_6321Have some leftover Christmas ham and sick of eating ham sandwiches?  Try this amazing Ham Bean Soup!  I’m telling you, if ham bean soup is on the menu at a restaurant or my favorite cafe, it’s the last thing I would order…BORING!  But not this recipe!  This is not a boring “manly” soup.  It’s homemade!  Homemade stock, homemade everything and it’s delish!  And easy!  And healthy!

If you are looking to impress the fam or give the neighbors a little holiday warmth, this will do it!

I’m not just bragging about my soup making abilities either, which are pretty good by the way!  (Soup happens to be my favorite thing to cook.)  But my hubby and a friend both gave me huge props (unsolicited).

The plan was to freeze the leftovers in individual servings for easy grab and go, but it was just TOO GOOD!  We ate it all up for lunch all week!  Are you ever so excited for lunch? Ya, that’s how we (I) felt all week too!

So if you are looking to use up that ham bone and get some glory…you are welcome!

Ham Bean Soup

1 leftover ham bone with some ham still on it

2 1/2 quarts water

optional: Veggie ends like carrots, onion, celery, etc. (adds extra flavor to the broth)

2 Bay Leaves

1/2 bag of mixed beans for soup (I used Bob’s Red Mill 13 Bean Soup Mix)

2 cans of stewed tomatoes (I used my own that I canned that also had onions, celery, and carrots)

dash of Apple Cider Vinegar or lemon juice

2 cloves garlic

Prep the beans according to instructions starting the night before.

In a stock pot, add water, ham bone, bay leaves and veggie ends.  Bring to a boil and boil for 30 minutes or so.  Remove the veggie ends with a slotted spoon.  Add prepped beans and garlic and bring back to a boil then reduce to simmer for 3 hours.  Add stewed tomatoes, ACV and simmer for 30 min.  Remove the ham bone to cool.

Makes 8-10 servings.  This makes enough to freeze or share with friends.

One thought on “Here’s what to do with your Leftover Christmas Ham->Bean Soup

Leave a Reply

